Scrutiny Committee

Meeting to be held on 8 June 2012

Electoral Division affected: All

Scrutiny Committee: Chair and Deputy Chair, Membership, and Terms of Reference

(Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information: Claire Evans, 07917 836 698, Office of the Chief Executive claire.evans@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary and Recommendation

The Committee is asked: to note:

- The appointment of County Councillor P Britcliffe and County Councillor P Malpas as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2012/13 municipal year;
- ii. The membership of the Committee following the County Council's annual meeting; and
- iii. The Terms of Reference of the Committee.

Background and Advice

The County Council at its annual meeting on 24 May 2012 agreed that the Committee shall comprise 13 County Councillors (on the basis of 8 Conservative members, 3 Labour members, 1 Liberal Democrat members and 1 Independent member). It was also agreed that nominations of County Councillors to serve on the Committee should be submitted to the County Secretary and Solicitor by the respective political groups.

The nominations for County Councillors to serve on the committee for the following year will be circulated at the meeting

The Full Council also appointed County Councillor P Britcliffe and County Councillor P Malpas as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2012/13 municipal year.

A copy of the Committee's Terms of Reference is attached at Appendix 'A'.

Consultations

N/A



Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper	Date	Contact/Directorate/Tel
Full Council papers	24 May 2012	Janet Mulligan, Office of the Chief Executive, 01772 533361

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate

N/A